Award of Distinction recipients

May 25, 2007
Eight dental hygienists were selected for the annual Sunstar Americas/RDH magazine Healthy Gums. Healthy Life. Award of Distinction.

The 2007 recipients of the Sunstar Americas/RDH magazine Healthy Gums. Healthy Life. Award of Distinction are:

• Sandra Berger, RDH, Freehold, N.J.

• Linda Bohacek, RDH, Eau Claire, Wis.

• Diana Corbin, RDH, Sperryville, Va.

• Cynthia Dixon, RDH, Houston, Texas

• Donna Grzegorek, RDH, Algonquin, Ill.

• Carol Lee, RDH, Sacramento, Calif.

• Judith Shimamoto, RDH, Marshall Islands

• Millie Thaw, RDH, Deer Park, N.Y.

The eight dental hygienists will be recognized at a ceremony at the RDH Under One Roof conference on Friday, Aug. 3, in Washington, D.C.

"We are very proud of this year's recipients of the Healthy Gums. Healthy Life. Award of Distinction," said Craig Dickson, publisher of RDH and RDH eVillage. "We have a very close relationship with Sunstar, which shares our commitment to recognizing excellence in dental hygiene. Since the award's inception, we have been able to praise the efforts of 48 outstanding dental hygienists with this award."

RDH magazine will feature the award recipients in its September 2007 issue.

A panel of three judges selected the award recipients.

Most of the award recipients in previous years were self-nominated, and the 2007 group followed that trend for the most part. The exceptions were Berger, who was nominated by past recipient Noel Kelsch, RDH, and Bohacek, who was nominated by fellow Eau Claire hygienist Sarah Pedersen, RDH. Thaw nominated herself, but she also received secondary nominations from three other hygienists — Maureen Chodaba, RDH, Susan Burzynski, RDH, and Lynn Radziewicz, RDH.