ADHA announces contest winners

Maria Perno Goldie, RDH, MS, lists the winners of various awards and accolades presented at the Center for Lifelong Learning at the ADHA’s 90th Annual Session in Boston.

Christine Nathe Fo

CHICAGO—The American Dental Hygienists’ Association is proud to announce the winners of various awards and accolades presented at the Center for Lifelong Learning at the 90th Annual Session in Boston.(1)

Esther Wilkins Future Leader Award (sponsored by Hu-Friedy): Awarded to a dental hygienist demonstrating leadership within five years of graduating from a dental hygiene program.

Winner: Katherine Welling, Sparks, Nevada

Irene Newman Award (sponsored by Colgate): Outstanding advancement of the art and science of dental hygiene.

Winner: Christine Nielsen Nathe, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Christine Nathe Fo

Christine Nielsen Nathe

Alfred C. Fones Award: Lasting contributions to the dental hygiene profession over the last 25 years.

Winner: Margaret Fehrenbach, Seattle, Washington

Margaret Fehrenbach Fo

Margaret Fehrenbach

ADHA Award for Excellence in Dental Hygiene (sponsored by Johnson & Johnson)

Carol Jahn, Warrenville, Ill.

Carol Jahn Fo

Carol Jahn

Bonnie Nothoff, Kewadin, Mich.

Bonnie Nothoff Fo

Bonnie Nothoff

Michelle Noblett Vacha, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Michelle Noblet Vacha Fo

Michelle Noblett Vacha

Colgate/ADHA Community Outreach Award

Winner: Orange County Dental Hygienists’ Society (Kimberly Cruz, Garden Grove, Calif.)

Student Member Community Service Award (sponsored by Colgate)

Winner: Kelli McDonald and Katie Zignego, Great Falls, Mont.

Crest Oral B/ADHA Clinical Dental Hygienist Award

Winner: Lisa Higbee, Pocatello, Idaho

Lisa Higbee Fo

Lisa Higbee

Crest Oral B/ADHA Educator of the Year

Winner: Nancy Keselyak, Overland Park, Kan.

Sigma Phi Alpha Journalism Award (sponsored by Johnson & Johnson)

Master’s/Doctoral Category: Lori Giblin, Taunton, Mass.
Baccalaureate Category: Tiffany Mendryga, Lincoln Park, Mich.

Hu Friedy/ADHA Master Clinician: Awarded for the demonstration of expertise in bringing clinical practice and patient education together.

Winner: Stacy Matsuda, Hillsboro, Ore.

Stacy Matsuda Fo

Stacy Matsuda

The Esther Wilkins Lifetime Achievement Awards 2013, sponsored by Dimensions of Dental Hygiene and Colgate, were awarded to Michele Leonardi Darby, BSDH, MS, and Margaret (Peggy) Walsh, RDH, MS, MA, EdD.

Michele’s daughter, Devan, accepted her award. Devan wrote: “One perfect example of this (support from friends) was last night at the American Dental Hygienists' Association annual session in Boston, where I was invited to receive for my mom the Esther Wilkins Lifetime Achievement Award, which she shared with her colleague, co-author, and lifelong friend, Dr. Peg Walsh. Not only was receiving (the) award a real professional honor, but it was personally uplifting, healing, and heart-warming. Even though she couldn't be there in person, I know my mom felt your love and positive energy over FaceTime! This brought her immense joy and satisfaction, which is healing in itself!(2) The community of dental hygienists and dental hygiene advocates has been wonderful in supporting my mother and Peg as they overcome their health challenges. At this beautiful event, countless people came up to me to express their support, send their best wishes and prayers, and just give me a hug. I felt like a rockstar -- all because of my mom! Thank you!”(2)

Peggy’s award was received by Barbara Heckman, RDH, MS, and Denise Bowen, RDH, MS.

Michele Darby Fo

Michele Leonardi Darby, BSDH, MS

Peg Walsh Fo

Margaret (Peggy) Walsh, RDH, MS, MA, EdD

Congratulations to all the wonderful winners!


Maria Goldie 2013c

Maria Perno Goldie, RDH, MS

To read previous RDH eVillage FOCUS articles by Maria Perno Goldie, click here.

To read more about the ADHA and dental hygiene, click here.

More in Clinical Hygiene