ADEA Presidential Citations

March 14, 2011
Citations awarded to nine leaders who have demonstrated exceptional service to the ADEA and dental education.

WASHINGTON, D.C.—American Dental Education Association President Sandra C. Andrieu, MEd, PhD, presented Presidential Citations to nine leaders who have demonstrated exceptional service to the association and dental education.

To read more about the ADEA, go to ADEA.

Awards were presented at the 2011 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in San Diego, Calif.

“I personally picked each of the 2011 ADEA Presidential Citation recipients for their hard work and selfless service in improving the future of dental education,” said Dr. Andrieu. "Each of these volunteer leaders has contributed so much to my presidential term and the association."

Citations were presented to:

Carol A. Aschenbrener, M.D., Executive Vice President, Association of American Medical Colleges
Dr. Aschenbrener’s work has strengthened the relationship between the Association of American Medical Colleges and ADEA in support of interprofessional education. With first-hand experience in health care education, she has provided a collaborative perspective on curriculum reform in her duties on the ADEA Commission on Change and Innovation in Dental Education Oversight Committee.

Susan J. Crim, RDH, MS Ed, PhD, Associate Professor and Dental Hygiene Department Chair, University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry
Dr. Crim is a steadfast representative for the allied dental education field. She served more than 25 years as a dental hygiene program director and clinic coordinator and continues to represent allied dental education in her role on the ADEA Task Force on the Education of Oral Health Professionals in Emerging Workforce Models, which led to the development of new guiding principles for educational preparation of new oral health professionals.

Denise A. Davis, Dr.PH, MBA, Program Officer, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Dr. Davis has promoted interprofessional education and diversity in health care education. She has served ADEA in many groups related to both, including the Pipeline, Profession & Practice: Community-Based Dental Education (Dental Pipeline) Program, AAMC/ADEA Summer Medical and Dental Education Program, and the ADEA Admissions Committee Workshop Project. She continues to unite higher education associations on issues around IPE.

Elise S. Eisenberg, DDS, MA, Senior Director of Dental Informatics and Clinical Professor, New York University College of Dentistry
Dr. Eisenberg is at the forefront of technology in dental education. She has led discussion on the use of new innovations to enhance dental education and how this will change the way we lead and teach. As coordinator of the ADEA TechExpo and the ADEA poster presentation abstract review process, her volunteer service has helped promote and led discussions on new technologies that will affect the future of health care education.

John R. Gallo, III, DDS, MS, Assistant Dean of Clinical Affairs and Associate Professor, Louisiana State University School of Dentistry
As chair of the ADEA Annual Session Program Committee for the 2011 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition, Dr. Gallo was instrumental in the design and conceptualization of the association’s professional development event.

Lily T. Garcia, DDS, MS, FACP, Department of Prosthodontics Chair and Director of the Division of Advanced Education and External Affairs in the Department of Comprehensive Dentistry, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Dental School
Dr. Garcia has provided service to ADEA. She has shown commitment to fostering collaboration between the disciplines and special interests in dental and allied dental education as the ADEA Vice President for Sections.

James D. Harrison, DDS, MSc, MA, Professor, Louisiana State University School of Dentistry
Above and beyond his term as ADEA President, Dr. Harrison has contributed more to the profession of dental education than most faculty members. His active service in ADEA has helped shaped the future of dental education. In his teaching, he is a role model of professionalism to his students and fellow faculty.

Marilyn S. Lantz, DMD, PhD, MSD, Professor of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, University of Michigan School of Dentistry
Dr. Lantz has been a dental school faculty member for more than 30 years and has held administrative positions in dental schools for more than 20 of those years. Her work with the ADEA Center for Educational Policy and Research as the 2010 ADEA/William J. Gies Foundation Education Fellow produced research on the accreditation process for dental and other health professions.

Todd E. Thierer, DDS, MPH, Associate Professor in the University of Rochester Eastman Dental Center and Director of the General Practice Residency Training Program at the University of Rochester Medical Center
Dr. Thierer has been a champion of advanced dental education throughout his 20-year service to ADEA. He has exemplified what a dental educator should be, a representative for advancing dental education. His work with the ADEA Future of Advanced Dental Education Admissions Project will guide standards for advanced dental education programs.

For more information, go to

To comment on this topic, go to