Pennwell web 200 200

OSAP Board hosts leadership

Nov. 16, 2010
Reception for local dental association leaders described organization's new mission, logo, strategic goals, and new emphasis on infection control prevention.
ANNAPOLIS, Maryland--As part of a two-day strategy session in Chicago, Ill., the Board of the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention sponsored a reception Nov. 11, 2010, for local dental association leaders.At the reception, the organization described its new mission, logo, strategic goals, and new emphasis on infection control prevention.“OSAP pivoted its ‘inch-wide and mile-deep’ orientation from vertical to horizontal,” said OSAP Executive Director Therese Long as she demonstrated the change in the organization’s axis. “Instead of functioning as a static resource, OSAP is now reaching out to help integrate dental infection prevention, safety best practices, and core competencies into existing structures.”The OSAP Board shared its new strategic goals that are designed to increase the its impact in oral health care. In addition, the Board described related activities, including a new infection control checklist for mobile dental programs, and a project with the Association for State and Territorial Dental Directors.Attendees included association leaders Kathleen O’Loughlin, DMD, MPH, and Sheila Strock, DMD, MPH (ADA); Chuck Macfarlane, FACHE, CAE (AGD); Scott Litch, MA, JD (AAPD); Larry Sepin and Jen Blake, CDA, EFDA, FADAA (ADAA); Cindy Durley, MEd, MBA (DANB); and Beth Truett (OHA). Milly Goldstein and Herb Pozen, owners of local OSAP corporate member, Bosworth Company, also participated.OSAP Board members included chairman Doni Bird, CDA, RDH, MA (Santa Rosa, Calif., Junior College), chair-elect Jeff Sherman, (Henry Schein), treasurer Doug Braendle (SciCan), secretary Peggy Cottrell (ConFirm Monitoring Systems), immediate past chairman Lori Paulson (American Dental Cooperative), and directors Anthony Angelini (Aegis Communications), Carmen [Yolanda] Bonta, DMD, MS (Hispanic Dental Association), Leslie Grant, DDS, MSPA (Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners), John M.G. Hunt, OBE, FFGDP (UK), BDS, Jennifer Naylor (Hu-Friedy), and ex-officio members Don Marianos, DDS, MPH, (chairman, OSAP Foundation) and Therese Long, MBA CAE.For more information, visit read more about OSAP, go to OSAP.To comment on this topic, go to