Certification Commission names new 2011 trustees and commissioners

Dec. 14, 2010
Announces William F. Jessee, MD, FACMPE as new Trustee Chair.

CHICAGO – The Certification Commission for Health Information Technology announced three appointees to its board of trustees and named 11 commissioners, whose terms begin Jan. 1, 2011.

“Given the large number and high caliber of the applying candidates, this was a challenging selection process,” said William F. Jessee, MD, FACMPE, president and chief executive officer, Medical Group Management Association and incoming chair of the Commission’s board of trustees. “We thank all those who expressed interest and hope they will take advantage of other opportunities for participation as they arise.”

The nine-member board of trustees has fiduciary responsibility for the not-for-profit organization and provides leadership in the areas of fiscal oversight and stewardship of assets, organizational strategy, evaluation of senior management, and resolution of any conflicts of interest involving the Commission’s management and its board of commissioners. Trustees serve three-year staggered terms. The new appointees are:

  • Richard Campanelli, J.D., Director of Government Relations for Health and Human Services, Washington Operations, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • John Derr, R.Ph., Strategic Technology, Golden Living, LLC
  • Andrew Wiesenthal, M.D., S.M., Deloitte Consulting LLP

The board of commissioners , chaired by Karen Bell, M.D., M.M.S., guides and approves the work of the voluntary work groups and staff as they develop certification criteria, inspection processes, and policy. The Commission solicited applications from senior executives representing a wide range of stakeholders across the public and private sectors of health care and health IT. Commissioners serve two-year terms on the 21-member board. The new commissioners are:

  • Gregory Zeller, D.D.S., M.S., Associate Professor of Dental Medicine, Clinical Director of the EHR Implementation Project, University of Maryland Dental School
  • Abha Agrawal, M.D., FRCP, Chief Medical Officer, Kings County Hospital Center, Brooklyn, NY
  • Rebecca Armato, Executive Director, Physician and Interoperability Services, Huntington Memorial Hospital, Pasadena, Calif.
  • William Corbett, M.D., Vice President Community Practice, UMass Memorial Medical Group
  • Charles Jaffe, M.D., Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Health Level 7 International
  • David Krusch, M.D., Chief Medical Information Officer, Director, Division of Medical Informatics, Associate Professor of Surgery and Informatics, University of Rochester Medical Center
  • Lewis Sandy, M.D., M.B.A., Senior Vice President, Clinical Advancement, United Health Group

The following commissioners were reappointed to another two-year term:

  • Sarah Corley, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, Nextgen Healthcare Information Systems, Inc.
  • Michael Kappel, Senior Vice President, Government and Industry Relations, McKesson Technology Solutions
  • Joy Keeler, The MITRE Corporation
  • Jennifer Laughlin, M.B.A., RHIA, Vice President and Chief Information Officer, University of Wisconsin Health Partners – Watertown Regional Medical Center

“The Commission welcomes the diverse expertise that our new appointees represent as we meet the challenge of the future,” said Bell. “We would also like to extend appreciation to those whose term has ended for their continued support.”

In addition to its work as an Office of the National Coordinator-Authorized Testing and Certification Body, the Commission continues to launch new independently developed CCHIT Certified® programs. Certification for Ambulatory EHRs used in Clinical Research will be available in January 2011 and certification for Ambulatory EHRs used in Oncology and Women’s Health (obstetrics component) will be available later in the spring.

An up-to-date listing of commissioners is available at www.cchit.org/about/commission.

For related news, go to tinyurl.com/22o79vg.

To comment on this article, go to community.pennwelldentalgroup.com/.