NDA to hold Day on the Hill event

May 6, 2010
National Dental Association's 11th annual affair set for May 6, 2010.

WASHINGTON, D.C.--A private ribbon-cutting ceremony will be held May 6, 2010, on Capitol Hill as the Deamonte Driver Dental Project announces the arrival and launch of an initial mobile dental clinic.

The program is administered by the Robert T. Freeman Dental Society Foundation, under the auspices of the National Dental Association.

The launch will be followed by an awards ceremony honoring those whose support and leadership brought the dream to fruition.

Included among the honorees are Maryland legislators Governor Martin O'Malley, Senator Ben Cardin, Congressman Elijah Cummings and State Senator Ulysses Currie. Others to be honored are Stanley M. Bergman, chairman and CEO of Henry Schein, and Jim Kitch, vice president of ADI Mobile Health, as well as other community partners, advocates, and dentists who have cooperated to build a sustainable program.

The events will take place in conjunction with the annual National Dental Association Day on the Hill, which immediately follows the awards ceremony and is co-hosted by Senator Cardin (D-MD) and Congressman Cummings (D-7th MD).

Also slated to be in attendance and making remarks at the NDA’s Day on the Hill will be Donna Christian-Christensen (D-VI), Joe Barton (R-6th TX), John Conyers, Jr. (D-14th MI), Mary Fallin (R-5th OK), Dennis Kucinich (D-10th OH), Frank Kratovil (D-1st MD), Sander Levin (D-12th MI), John Lewis (D-5th GA), Christopher Murphy (D-5th CT), Michael Rogers (R-8th MI), “Dutch” Ruppersberger (D-2nd MD), Bobby Scott (D-3rd VA), Mike Simpson (R-2nd ID) and Mark Souder (R-3rd IN).

Time(s): 8:15 am- Assemble on sidewalk adjacent to van on Third St.
8:30 a.m. - Ribbon Cutting Ceremony
8:40 a.m. - Walk-through of Mobile Dental Clinic
8:45 a.m. - Shuttle transportation for guests from Ribbon Cutting to Rayburn House Office Bldg. for Awards Ceremony

Location: Third Street, NW, between Constitution & Pennsylvania Avenues, on the West side (side closest to the Washington Monument)

Time: 9:00 am – 9:30 am (immediately following ceremony above)

Location: Rayburn Office Building, Room 2226
50 Independence Ave., SW
Washington, DC 20515

Time: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm (registration opens at 9:30 am)
Location: Rayburn House Office Building, Room 2168

For more information, go to www.deamontesdentalproject.org.

To read more about the National Dental Association, go to www.dentistryiq.com/index/display/article-display/9261642864/articles/dentisryiq/industry/2010/04/atpa-2010_shatters.html.

To comment on this subject, go to community.pennwelldentalgroup.com/.