Periodontists, studies recognized

Oct. 31, 2007
American Academy of Periodontology presents awards for outstanding achievement in periodontics and service to the academy during recent annual meeting.

CHICAGO - The American Academy of Periodontology presented awards for outstanding achievement in periodontics and service to the Academy recently during its 93rd Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The Gold Medal Award was given to Michael G. Newman, DDS, Adjunct Professor of Periodontology at the University of California School of Dentistry at Los Angeles. Funded by Sunstar Americas, Inc., the award is the highest honor given by the AAP, and is given annually to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of periodontics.

The AAP's Master Clinician Award, funded by Hu-Friedy, was given to Michael K. McGuire, DDS, private practitioner in Houston and clinical assistant professor in the Department of Periodontics and Stomatology, University of Texas Dental Branch at San Antonio and Houston.

This award is given to an Academy member who has practiced and demonstrated consistent clinical excellence in periodontics.

The Presidential Award, funded by Procter & Gamble Professional Oral Health, was given to Vincent J. Iacono, DMD, professor and chairman of the Department of Periodontics and Director of the Advanced Education Program in Periodontics at the Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine, in Stony Brook, N.Y. This award is given annually in recognition of a member's distinguished service to the AAP over a period of years.

The Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award, sponsored by GlaxoSmithKline was given to Donald E. Willmann, DDS, professor at University of Texas Dental Branch, at Austin.

The Humanitarian Award was given to William Chandler James , DDS, private practitioner in Charlotte, N.C.

Three periodontists were given Fellowship Awards in recognition of distinguished service to the AAP in more than one area. The awards, funded by Procter & Gamble were presented to the following individuals:

* Paul Levi Jr., DDS, associate practitioner in Vermont and professor at Tufts University in Boston.

* Cheryl Townsend, DDS, private practitioner in Bellevue, Washington.

* Barry D. Wagenberg, DMD, private practitioner in New Jersey.

Three Special Citation Awards were presented to periodontists who have made a specific contribution to the Academy through a committee assignment, special project or other activity in recognition of various outstanding contributions to the AAP. The awards, sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Oral Health Products, were presented to the following:

* Donald S. Clem, III, DDS, private practitioner in Fullerton, California.

* Georgia Kay Johnson, DDS, professor at the University of Iowa College Of Dentistry.

* Joan Otomo-Corgel, DDS, professor at the UCLA School of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics.

The Clinical Research Award, sponsored by Quintessence Publishing, was given to a study published in the New England Journal of Medicine titled Treatment of periodontal disease and the risk of preterm birth. Authors of the study are Bryan S. Michalowicz, James S. Hodges, Anthony J. DiAngelis, Virginia R. Lupo, M. John Novak, James E. Ferguson, William Buchanan, James Bofill, Panos N. Papapanou, Dennis A. Mitchell, Stephen Matseoane, and Pat A. Tschida.

The R. Earl Robinson Regeneration Award, sponsored by the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation, was presented to a study published in the Journal of Periodontology titled New Composite Endpoints to Assess Efficacy in Periodontal Therapy Clinical Trials. Authors of the Study are Samuel E. Lynch, Philip T. Lavin, Robert J. Genco, William G. Beasley, and Leslie A. Wisner-Lynch.

The William J. Geis Award was presented to David Cochran, professor and chair of the Department of Periodontics at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.