ADHA announces adoption of its new charter agreement

June 21, 2017
The ADHA signed charter agreements with state associations in Florida and Minnesota, culminating the collaborative work between ADHA and its member states.

The charter agreement signing with the Minnesota leadership: (back row, left to right): Tammy Filipiak, RDH, MS, ADHA President; Betty Kabel, RDH, BS, ADHA Immediate Past President; Renee Johnson, RDH, BSDH, Immediate Past President MnDHA; Megan Arnold, RDH, BSDH, M.A., Past President, MnDHA; (seated, left to right) Ann Battrell, MSDH, ADHA CEO; and Louann Goodnough, DH, BS, President MnDHA.

At its annual conference in Jacksonville, Fla., on June 16, the American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) signed charter agreements with the Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association and Minnesota Dental Hygienists’ Association. The two dental hygiene state associations became the 48th and 49th chartered constituents. This signing is the culmination of the collaborative work between ADHA and its member states.

The ADHA said the charter agreements are a core component of the national dental hygiene association's new strategic plan that is anchored in the "three pillars to unite, empower and support" dental hygienists at all stages of their careers. A charter agreement workgroup recently focused on streamlining and reducing reporting requirements, refining charter agreement key elements, developing a permanent Constituent Advisory Committee, and creating a resource guide to help state leaders execute the charter agreement requirements.

“This is a significant milestone for our organization and profession,” said Ann Battrell, MSDH, the ADHA's CEO. “The charter workgroup used data and extensive member feedback as the foundation of its work and did everything in lockstep with our state component leaders to create a win-win agreement.”

The dental hygiene association for California declined the charter agreement with the ADHA in 2016.

Charter agreement signing with Florida leadership: (back row, left to right) Filipiak; Battrell; Norine Dowd, CRDH, BHSc, FDHA Administrative Assistant; Tami Miller, BS, CRDH, FDHA Executive Director; Beryl Sue Kassoff-Correia, CRDH, BS, FDHA President-Elect; (seated, left to right) Kabel; and Becky Smith, CRDH, EdD, FDHA President.