ADHA honors hygiene award recipients at annual session

June 24, 2015
The American Dental Hygienists’ Association announced various award winners during its annual session in Nashville, Tenn on June 17-23.

The American Dental Hygienists’ Association announced various award winners during its annual session in Nashville, Tenn on June 17-23. The association’s 92nd annual meeting had an attendance of more than 2,100, according to the ADHA.

The 2015 award winners are:

  • ADHA Award for Excellence in Dental Hygiene (sponsored by Johnson & Johnson). The recipients “personify what those in the dental hygiene profession strive to exemplify to their patients, communities, and the world through a career dedicated to improving oral and overall health.” The recipients were: Linda Jorgenson, RDH, BS, RF, of Rivers Falls, Wis.; Deborah M. Lyle, RDH, BS, MS, of Morris Plains, N.J.; Kelly Tanner Williams, RDH, MSDH, of Williamsburg, Va.; Christine A. Charles, RDH, of Teaneck, N.J. (honorary).
  • Esther Wilkins Future Leader Award (sponsored by Hu-Friedy). The recipient demonstrates “leadership within five years of graduating from a dental hygiene program.” The recipient was L. Whitney Howerton, RDH, BS, BA, of Memphis, Tenn.
  • Irene Newman Award (sponsored by Colgate). The recipient is honored for “outstanding advancement of the art and science of dental hygiene.” The recipient is Patricia L. Brinkman-Falter, RDH, BSDH, MS, COM, of Lincoln, Neb.
  • Alfred C. Fones Award. The award is for “lasting contributions to the dental hygiene profession over the last 25 years.” The recipient is Tricia Osuna, RDH, BSDH, FAADH, of Redondo Beach, Calif.
  • Colgate/ADHA Community Outreach Award. The award goes to component societies that have “implemented significant community outreach programs that focus on preventive oral health care.” The recipient is Snohomish County Dental Hygienist's Society, represented by Vicki Munday, RDH, BS, of Lake Stevens, Wash.
  • Student Member Community Service Award (sponsored by Colgate). The award recognizes a “student member chapter that has demonstrated outstanding community service activities.” The recipient is SUNY Canton Dental Hygiene Class of 2015 in Rome, N.Y.
  • Crest Oral-B/ADHA Award for Clinical Dental Hygienists. The award is for the contributions “dental hygienists make in their patients’ lives, particularly when it comes to the impact of patient education and the critical role oral health plays in total health.” The recipient is Nora Lugaila, BS, RDH, PHDHP, of Coraopolis, Pa.
  • Crest Oral-B/ADHA Educator of the Year. The award is extended to an educator who “demonstrates excellence in teaching, mentoring and helping students achieve their goals.” The recipient is Joanna L. Allaire, RDH, MDH, of The Woodlands, Texas.
  • ADHA Sigma Phi Alpha Journalism Award (sponsored by Johnson & Johnson). This award recognizes two students, one at the baccalaureate level and one at the master’s level, who have written a review or original research paper that contributes to “dental hygiene’s overall body of knowledge and meets the rigorous quality standards of the ADHA’s Journal of Dental Hygiene.” The master’s recipient is Danette R. Ocegueda, RDH, MS, of Woodland, Calif. The baccalaureate recipient is Lauren Ashlee Kanzigg, BSDH, of Holly Springs, N.C.
  • Hu-Friedy/ADHA Master Clinician. The award is for the “demonstration of expertise in bringing clinical practice and patient education together.” The recipient is Emily J. Boge, RDH, BS, MPA, of Farley, Iowa.
  • DENTSPLY/ADHA Graduate Student Clinicians Program. This program “encourages and promotes graduate dental hygiene students to participate in and conduct dental hygiene research, and present their findings in a poster competition.” The recipients are Danette Ocegueda, RDH, University of Missouri–Kansas City, Kansas City, Mo. (first place); Courtney Perrachione, RDH, Idaho State University, Pocatello, Idaho (second place); and Amy Molnar, RDH, BSDH, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio (third place).