Executive director, Schein, and Patterson among OSAP award recipients

June 15, 2015
The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) announced its leadership awards during its annual symposium May 28-30 in Baltimore.

The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) announced its leadership awards during its annual symposium May 28-30 in Baltimore. Therese Long, executive director of OSAP, was recognized with the 18th Annual Dr. James J. Crawford Award, which is given for lifetime achievement in the field of dental infection control.

Henry Schein Dental and Patterson Dental were co-recipients of the 14th Annual Dr. Milton Schaefer Award for their superior service and ongoing contributions to OSAP.


Related articles on infection control


The Dr. James J. Crawford Award is named in honor of one of the founding fathers of dental infection control. Awardees have made major contributions in science, education, or public policy related to OSAP’s core competencies of infection control and patient and provider safety.

Therese Long, OSAP executive director.

The boards of directors of OSAP and the OSAP Foundation chose to recognize Therese Long for her long service as executive director (she was the organization’s first full-time director).

“For 20 years, as ‘the heart and soul of OSAP,’ Therese Long has been a tireless and passionate advocate for patient and provider safety in oral health care,” said Dr. John O’Keefe, chairman of the OSAP Board of Directors. “The members of the OSAP Board were unanimous in their delight at being able to recognize Therese’s work by conferring the 2015 James J. Crawford Award on her.”

Under Long’s guidance, the organization obtained IRS recognition, launched the OSAP Foundation, formed valuable partnerships that expanded the organization’s reach, and created effective programs and campaigns.

Mike Smurr and Marguerite Walsh.

The Dr. Milton Schaefer Award recognizes nominees whose efforts have resulted in tangible benefits to the continuing advancement of OSAP’s mission as an international advocate for the safe and infection-free delivery of oral health-care. Henry Schein Dental and Patterson Dental have conducted social responsibility campaigns that generated funding for OSAP dental safety initiatives and provided additional value to OSAP corporate members. Both companies have donated advertising and in-kind services, and supported key executives serving on OSAP boards. While the companies are key competitors, they come together under the banner of infection control to collaborate on every OSAP initiative. including, most recently, the Safest Dental Visit campaign. Mike Smurr, director of marketing, merchandise, for Patterson Dental and Marguerite Walsh, vice president, product merchandising for Henry Schein Dental accepted the awards on behalf of their companies.

Jill Hunt.

The 13th Annual Bette & Paul Schwarz Award was given to Jill Hunt. The award honors volunteer spirit and is named for a couple who for many years managed all of the volunteer activities associated with the annual symposium. Jill Hunt is well known for her participation and contributions to the OSAP auction.

Jessica Wilson.

This year, OSAP introduced a new award: Emerging Infection Control Leader. The goal for the award is to help develop and promote the next generation of stars in the field of dental infection prevention and safety by identifying outstanding new infection control advocates. The first Emerging Infection Control Lead Award was given to Jessica Wilson, a national speaker, trainer, and educator who focuses on infection prevention and compliance. Wilson is employed by Hu-Friedy as an Instrument Management and Infection Prevention Specialist.

This year’s symposium opened with a welcome from Katherine Weno, DDS, JD, director of the Division of Oral Health at the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). She provided an update on the strategic direction for that CDC division.

The Dr. John S. Zapp Memorial Lecture was given by L. Clifford McDonald, MD, FACP, FSHEA, the Chief of the Prevention and Response Branch in the Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion at the CDC. He discussed the challenges of emerging and re-emerging diseases, Clostridium difficile, and antibiotic resistance.

Other highlights included a global HIV update; a review of the Dental Patient Safety Initiative; new information on cleaning and sterilization of instruments, waterlines, and handpieces; special interest group breakout sessions, and a presentation on what dental practitioners should know about post-exposure management.

Key content from the symposium will be summarized in the OSAP Symposium Proceedings, which will be available from the OSAP website soon. The proceedings document provides summaries of the presentations and essential resources for further study.

Next year’s symposium will be held June 2-4 in San Diego, CA. Prospective participants are encouraged to save the date and watch the OSAP website for updates and early-bird registration.

Call 800- 298-OSAP (6727) or 410-571-0003 or visit for additional information.

Photo caption: