Academy of General Dentistry Names New Executive Board

Aug. 5, 2003
John D. Chandler, DDS, MAGD, installed as president.

The Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) is pleased to announce its newly elected and installed executive board. A formal ceremony was held during the second session of the House of Delegates at the AGD's annual meeting on July 20, 2003, in Nashville, TN, to recognize the AGD's new leaders.

President - John D. Chandler, DDS, MAGD
John D. Chandler, DDS, MAGD, of Huntsville, Texas, was installed as AGD president. He will serve one year as president. He has served as an AGD trustee and secretary and as a Texas Academy of General Dentistry public information officer, legislative chair, editor and treasurer. Dr. Chandler also completed a four-year appointment to the American Dental Association Continuing Education Recognition Program (ADA- CERP).

President Elect - Thomas A. Howley, Jr., DDS, MAGD
Thomas A. Howley, Jr., DDS, MAGD, of Perkiomenville, Penn., was installed as president elect. He will serve one year as president elect, with an automatic ascension to president in 2004. He has served as an AGD trustee, a member of the Budget and Finance Committee, representative to the Ethics Alliance of Oral Health Organizations and a member of the ADA-CERP committee.

Vice President - Bruce A. Burton, DMD, MAGD, ABGD
Bruce A. Burton, DMD, MAGD, ABGD, of Hood River, OR, was elected vice president. He will serve for one year with automatic ascension to president elect in 2004 and president in 2005. He serves as vice president of the AGD Foundation and has held many other AGD leadership positions, including chair of the Publications Committee and member of the Strategic Advancement Committee and Dental Care Council. For the Oregon AGD (OAGD), Dr. Burton has served as president, secretary/treasurer, delegate, associate editor and Board member. He was named OAGD Co-Dentist of the Year in 1997.

Secretary � David Halpern, DDS, MAGD
David F. Halpern, DDS, MAGD, of Columbia, MD was elected secretary. He is the trustee from Region 5 and has been a member of the AGD and ADA since 1978. As a trustee, he has been on the Publications Committee, Strategic Advancement Committee, and is currently on the Budget & Finance Committee. Dr. Halpern was a delegate to the AGD House for 16 years. He was the regional director for Region 5, and was a member of the Council on Dental Education, the Ad Hoc Committee of Dental Educators, and the AGD Foundation.

Treasurer - Mark P. Cohen, DDS, MAGD
Mark P. Cohen, DDS, MAGD, of Hillsdale, NJ, will continue his term as AGD treasurer. He has served the Academy as a national trustee, a Budget and Finance Committee member and a delegate to the Academy House.

Speaker of the House - Robert Roesch, DDS, MAGD
Robert Roesch, DDS, MAGD, of Fremont, Neb., was re-elected to his third term as the speaker of the house. Before becoming the AGD's speaker of the house, Dr. Roesch served as an AGD trustee, regional director, editor of regional directors and president of the Nebraska chapter of the AGD.

Editor - Roger D. Winland, DDS, MS, MAGD
Roger D. Winland, DDS, MS, MAGD, of Athens, Ohio, will continue his term as editor for the eighth consecutive year. Before becoming the AGD's editor, Dr. Winland was the editor of the AGD's Ohio chapter's award-winning newsletter The Family Dentist.

Immediate Past President � James (Jim) Richeson, Jr., DDS, FAGD
James (Jim) Richeson, Jr., DDS, FAGD, of Washington D.C., ended his term as AGD president. Dr. Richeson has served the AGD in numerous roles, including treasurer, trustee, regional director, member of the Council on Annual Meetings and International Conferences, and member of the Council on Legislative and Governmental Affairs. He has served as an AGD delegate and alternate delegate, and as a Reference Committee chair and consultant.

The AGD is a non-profit organization of more than 37,000 general dentists dedicated to staying up-to-date in the profession through continuing education. A general dentist is the primary care provider for patients of all ages and is responsible for the diagnosis, treatment, management and overall coordination of services related to patient's oral health needs.