Th 160937

Oklahoma Association of Women Dentists

Oct. 1, 2004
The Oklahoma Association of Women Dentists held its Annual Senior Spring Brunch on Sat. ...

The Oklahoma Association of Women Dentists held its Annual Senior Spring Brunch on Sat., April 24, at Nonna’s Painted Door Café in Oklahoma City to celebrate the success of the young women about to embark on their new career in the profession. The 30 attendees were made up of member dentists from the community and faculty members from the College of Dentistry. Junior and senior dental students were treated to an afternoon of fine food and friendship. Two scholarship awards were given to sophomore dental student Kesa McConnell and graduating senior Abbey Onan-VanOven. The Eleanor J. Bushee Senior Dental Student Award was given to graduating senior Sarah Fox.

Installation of officers (from left): Lori Holden, DS III student representative; Dr. Teresa Davis, vice president; Dr. Jeanne Panza, president; Dr. Suzie Beavers, secretary/treasurer; Dr. Tamara Berg, member-at-large; and Dr. Mary Martin, past president.
Click here to enlarge image

Past president Dr. Mary Martin installed state chapter officers for the 2004-2005 year:

• President - Dr. Jeanne C. Panza

• Vice President - Dr. Teresa K. Davis
(and immediate Past President)

• Secretary/Treasurer - Dr. Suzie Beavers

• Member-At-Large - Dr. Tamara S. Berg

Board of Trustees Student Representative - Lori Holden

Dr. Tamara Berg was the guest speaker. She presented her views on the benefits of membership in the OAWD and its national organization, the American Association of Women Dentists. The OAWD will hold a membership drive in the upcoming months in an effort to encourage support from women practitioners in the community to serve as mentors for students. For membership information, please contact Dr. Jeanne C. Panza, OU College of Dentistry, 1201 N. Stonewall Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1214, phone (405) 271-5988.