The American Association of Endodontists honors six individuals at annual session

May 29, 2012
The American Association of Endodontists recognized six individuals with the organization’s highest honors and awards during its recent 2012 Annual Session in Boston.

The American Association of Endodontists recognized six individuals with the organization’s highest honors and awards during its recent 2012 Annual Session in Boston. Those honored are:

Jerome V. Pisano, DDS, MS, received the AAE’s highest honor, the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, given for leadership and exemplary dedication to dentistry and endodontics. Dr. Pisano served as president of the American Association of Endodontists, the Illinois Association of Endodontics, the Northwest Suburban Branch to the Chicago Dental Society, and the Arcolian Dental Arts Society. In addition he has also served as president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer for the Edgar D. Coolidge Endodontic Study Club. Dr. Pisano continues to help establish the endodontic specialty as a premier field in dentistry and is a strong ambassador for the AAE Foundation where he has served as both a Trustee and an officer. In addition to practicing endodontics for more than 30 years in a private practice, he believes in educating future leaders and worked as a clinical associate professor in the graduate department of endodontics at his alma mater, Loyola University School of Dentistry.

Ronald I. Deblinger, DMD, received the prestigious President’s Award, which has been bestowed only eight times in the award’s history. It is reserved for the rare member who has uniquely participated in the AAE by working behind the scenes. Dr. Deblinger maintains a private practice in Clifton, N.J., and is currently the chairman of the Board of Directors of Delta Dental of New Jersey. He served as president of his local dental society, local study club, and state endodontic association. Over the years, Dr. Deblinger has demonstrated passion, dedication, and committed an abundant amount of time to the advancement of the AAE and dentistry. He served on the AAE Board of Directors from 1988-1992, contributed his talents on the Annual Session Site Selection Committee, Continuing Education Committee, and Membership Services Committee, and most recently completed a three-year term on the Journal of Endodontics Scientific Advisory Board.

Ove A. Peters, DMD, MS, PhD, received the Louis I. Grossman Award, presented to an author for cumulative publication of significant research studies that have made an extraordinary contribution to endodontology. Dr. Peters, a professor and co-chair in the Department of Endodontics at the University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, is the author of more than 100 scientific papers and abstracts. He received his Certificate in Endodontics at the University of Zurich Dental School in 2001 and earned another Certificate in Endodontics as well as an M.S. in oral and craniofacial sciences from University of California San Francisco, School of Dentistry. Dr. Peters has contributed to multiple textbooks and given presentations all over the world. He sits on the editorial review boards of multiple journals and is associate editor for the International Endodontic Journal and Endodontic Topics. Dr. Peters released early research on the behavior and performance of nickel-titanium rotary instruments measured by micro-computed tomography and projects that use torque-testing devices to measure stress fracture rotary instruments. He is a huge contributor to the advancement of endodontics and is internationally recognized as a distinguished researcher and educator.

Richard E. Walton, DMD, MS, received the I. B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award, given to a full-time educator of at least 15 years. Dr. Walton has dedicated his life to education and participates in multiples committees to further enhance the curriculum in endodontics. After receiving his Certificate in Endodontics in 1969 from the University of Illinois, Dr. Walton stayed there to begin his career in education as an instructor in the department of histology. By 1974, he was the director of the postgraduate program in endodontics at the Medical College of Georgia and became chair of the program in 1976. Dr. Walton later moved to the University of Iowa where he was professor and chairman of the department of endodontics for 13 years. He has contributed to numerous textbooks, co-written Endodontics: Principles and Practice, published countless journal articles, and mentored undergraduate, graduate, and postgraduate students.

George A. Bruder III, DMD, was honored with the Edward M. Osetek Educator Award, which is presented to a full-time educator with less than 10 years of teaching experience, who has earned the esteem and respect of students and faculty associates. After receiving his Certificate in Endodontics in 1998 from Stony Brook School of Dental Medicine, Dr. Bruder became a clinical instructor in the department of restorative dentistry and biomaterials sciences at Harvard School of Dental Medicine. Shortly after, he was director of endodontics at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. In 2006, he went back to his alma mater as assistant professor at SBSDM and became the school’s director of endodontics, the director of advanced education program in endodontics and in 2007, the assistant dean for information technologies.

John W. Gillan, DDS, MS, received the Spirit of Service Lifetime Award for his amazing impact to dental communities in third world countries. Dr. Gillan selflessly and quietly devotes much of his time to others. While working in a private practice for more than 30 years in Mesa, Ariz., Dr. Gillan has pursued a passion for helping others. Since 1994, he has traveled annually to teach endodontics with the Albanian Health Fund, a faith-based medical-dental team in Tirana, Albania. While there, he brings his own supplies, including books to share with the teachers, and has treated patients and educated students to help improve Albania’s dental care. To express his gratefulness, the President of Albania awarded Dr. Gillan with a Medal of Gratitude for his contributions to the education of Albanian dental students in 2009. In addition to his work in Albania, Dr. Gillan has also worked in Cameroon as part of the medical-dental-surgical team for Health Teams International and has participated in dental mission trips to Romania and Kosovo. His dedication to service in the course of his professional career is truly inspiring and an example for all endodontists to follow.

About the American Association of Endodontists
The American Association of Endodontists, headquartered in Chicago, Ill., represents more than 7,500 members worldwide. Endodontics is one of nine dental specialties formally recognized by the American Dental Association. The AAE, founded in 1943, is dedicated to excellence in the art and science of endodontics and to the highest standard of patient care. The Association inspires its members to pursue professional advancement and personal fulfillment through education, research, advocacy, leadership, communication, and service. For more information about the AAE, visit the Association's website.