IADR. GSK announce Innovation in Oral Health Care Award winners

Feb. 1, 2004
Four teams, including three academic centers and a biotechnology company will share the $360,000 unrestricted research grant award.

The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Consumer Healthcare has announced the winners of the Innovation in Oral Care Awards for 2004. Four teams, including three academic centers and a biotechnology company will share the $360,000 unrestricted research grant award. The winners are:

-- Hebrew University Hadassah School of Medicine, Israel. (Dr. Doron Steinberg and co-workers)
-- Oregon Health Sciences University, Oregon, USA. (Dr. Jack Ferracane and co-workers)
-- University of Texas San Antonio, Texas, USA. (Dr. Spencer Redding and co-workers)
-- Clarigen Inc, California, USA. (Dr. Marie-Claude Amoureux and co-workers).

These new awards are intended to inspire innovative and novel research in oral care, and offer opportunities for investigators to conduct research into the development of innovative and novel compounds, biomaterials, or devices with a direct impact on quality of life of the public.

More than 60 applications were received from teams of researchers across the globe, and were reviewed by an internationally recognized panel of experts, under the chairmanship of IADR Past President Dr. John Greenspan.

"The IADR appreciates the forward-looking approach of GSK Consumer Healthcare in offering its support for the Innovation in Oral Care Awards" noted Professor Stephen Challacombe, IADR President and Professor of Oral Medicine at Guys, Kings & St Thomas' Dental Institute, London, England. "We are encouraged by both the enormous response of our members and the high quality of the proposals submitted, indicating that research aimed at improving the oral health of the public is thriving. We look forward to a bright and continuing partnership with GSK Consumer Healthcare in the years to come."

"GSK Consumer Healthcare is privileged to have been able to work with the IADR in the development and funding of this new award, the intent of which is ultimately to improve oral health and quality of life for large numbers of people," said Dr David Alexander, Director of Worldwide Professional Affairs, GSK Consumer Healthcare. "We have been overwhelmed by the quality and quantity of applications which is testament to the large number of visionaries and innovators among IADR's global membership."

The awards will be formally presented during the 82nd General Session of IADR to be held in Honolulu, HI, March 10-13, 2004.

The International Association for Dental Research is a non-profit organization with over 11,000 individual members worldwide, dedicated to; 1) advancing research and increasing knowledge to improve oral health, 2) supporting the oral health research community, and 3) facilitating the communication and application of research findings for the improvement of oral health worldwide.

To learn more about IADR, visit www.dentalresearch.org