New leadership announced

July 13, 2007
Connor named 2007-08 president of American Dental Hygienists' Association.

CHICAGO--Jean Connor, RDH, Cambridge, Mass., was elected the 2007-08 president of the Chicago-based American Dental Hygienists' Association recently at the association's 84th annual session in New Orleans.

"This is an exciting time to lead the American Dental Hygienists' Association," Connor said. "I am honored to oversee the new branding initiative and welcome all dental hygienists as we continue to advance the profession, finding new equitable solutions for expanding access to oral health care."

Connor has served in numerous positions within ADHA including five years as district I trustee, director of the Oral Health Institute, ADHA delegate and student alternate delegate, as well as both the president-elect and vice president.

She served four years as treasurer of the dental hygiene political action committee. Connor has also served as president for both the Massachusetts Dental Hygienists' Association and the Middlesex component.

Connor has served on a variety of educational, public health and healthcare committees including the advisory boards at Forsythe Dental Hygiene Program at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy & Health Science and Middlesex Community College Dental Hygiene Program.

Her contributions have lead to her recognition as hygienist of the year by the Middlesex Component and MDHA along with the Massachusetts Dental Society. Most recently, Connor was honored by her alma mater with the 2007 Outstanding Alumni Award.

Connor succeeds Margaret Lappan Green, RDH, MS, of Yorktown, Va., as president. Green remains an ADHA officer as immediate past president as well as the 2007-08 chair of ADHA Institute for Oral Health.

Additional ADHA officers installed at the annual session include Diann Bomkamp, RDH, BSDH, CDHC, St. Louis, Mo., president-elect, Lynn M. Ramer, LDH, of Logansport, Ind., vice president. Remaining in their positions are Speaker of the House Kimberly Hickman-Bowen, RDH, BSDH, MA, Middleton, Del., and Treasurer Carol A. Jahn, RDH, MS, Warrenville, Ill.

The newly installed district trustees for 2007-08 are Denise E. Bowers, RDH, Med, of Lima, Ohio, District V (Ind., Ky., Mich., Ohio); Bonnie Flanagan, RDH, of Tulsa, Okla., District IX (N.M., Okla., Texas); Catherine Kelly Draper, RDH, MS, San Jose, Calif., District XI (Ariz., Calif.).

Re-elected district trustees for 2007-2008 are as follows: Beverley C. Litchfield, RDH, BS, EDd, of Scarborough, Maine, District I (Maine, Mass., N.H., R.I., Vt.); Pamela L. Quinones, RDH, BS, of Rockville, Md., District III (Del., Washington, D.C., Md., Va., W.Va.); Linda M. Jorgenson, RDH, BS, of River Falls, Wis., District VII (Minn., N.D., S.D., Wis.).

District trustees continuing their term for 2007-2008 are Sherri L. Meyers, RDH, MS, of Wind Gap, Pa., District II (Conn., N.J., N.Y., Pa.); Linda Swarts, RDH, BHS, of Jacksonville, N.C., District IV (Fla., Ga., N.C., S.C.); Catherine Ellington, RDH, BS, of Metairie, La., District VI (Ala., Ark., La., Miss., Tenn.); Mary C. Kelly, RDH, BS, of Des Moines, Iowa, District VIII (Ill., Iowa, Kan., Mo., Neb.).Laurie K. Ghigleri, BS, RDH, of Colorado Springs, Colo., District X (Colo. Mont., Utah, Wyo.); and Susan Savage, RDH, BSDH, of Ellinsburg, Wash., District XII (Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Nev., Ore., Wash.).

For more information about the ADHA, dental hygiene or the link between oral health and general health, visit American Dental Hygienists' Association.