April 14, 2011
Kenneth F. Hinds, DDS, Laguna Niguel, Calif., a general practice dentist, has been elected academy president.

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IIllinois---Kenneth F. Hinds, DDS, Laguna Niguel, Calif., a general practice dentist, was elected president of the Academy of Osseointegration during the organization’s 2011 annual business meeting in Washington, D.C.

To read more about the academy, go to academy.

Dr. Hinds succeeds former academy President Peter K. Moy, DMD, Los Angeles, Calif.

Newly elected members of the AO Board of Directors with Dr. Hinds are:

David L. Cochran, DDS, PhD, San Antonio, Texas, President-elect
Stephen L. Wheeler, DDS, Encinitas, Calif., Vice President
Russell D. Nishimura, DDS, Westlake Village, Calif., Secretary
Tara L. Aghaloo, DDS, MD, PhD, Los Angeles, Calif., Director

AO President: Dr. Kenneth Hinds
Dr. Hinds operates a private practice emphasizing comprehensive, esthetic and implant dentistry. He lectures nationally, internationally, and was a clinical professor at his alma mater, the University of Southern California School of Dentistry. He has published several articles, patents, and is known as an early adapter to new technologies.

An AO Fellow, Dr. Hinds served as AO Secretary, chaired the academy’s Scientific Program Committee for its 2005 annual meeting in Orlando, Fla., and served as annual meeting chair for the 2006 meeting in Seattle, Wash. He has served on the Board of Directors since 2004, and spent three years on the Membership Committee.

Dr. Hinds earned his dental degree from the University of Southern California School of Dentistry, after completing a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Biology at Utah State University.

AO President-elect: Dr. David Cochran
Dr. Cochran is professor and chairman, Department of Periodontics, at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio’s Dental School. He is also affiliate professor, Department of Biochemistry, at the Medical College of Virginia, Richmond.

An AO member since 1996, Dr. Cochran is a member of the 2012 Program Committee. He co-chaired the academy’s 2006 State of the Science on Implant Dentistry Workshop, previously served on the academy’s Board as treasurer and director, and was program chair for AO’s 2001 annual meeting in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Dr. Cochran is past president of the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP).

Dr. Cochran is a graduate of the University of Virginia, and received his DDS and PhD in biochemistry from the Medical College of Virginia. He also was trained in periodontology from the Harvard School of Dental Medicine. He was recently awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Bern in Switzerland for his contributions to implant dentistry.

AO Vice President: Dr. Stephen Wheeler
Dr. Wheeler’s private practice is based in Encinitas, Calif., where he provides a scope of oral, maxillofacial, and dental implant surgery. One of the first doctors in the U.S. to begin titanium dental implant placement in the mid1980s, he went on to establish the Rancho Santa Fe Dental Implant Dentistry Club as a forum for implant dentistry training and education.

Dr. Wheeler chaired AO’s Ad Hoc Committee on International Relations, and helped establish the AO Dental Forum, accessible via the academy’s website. He previously chaired the Council on Expanding Implant Utilization, the Ad Hoc Committee on Website and Electronic Services and the Professional Relations Committee. In addition, he chaired the academy’s 2002 annual meeting in Dallas, Texas, and served on the Allied Professional Staff Education and Public Awareness Subcommittees.

Dr. Wheeler graduated from the University of Southern California School of Dentistry, after earning his undergraduate degree from Stanford University. After dental school, he completed a three-year oral and maxillofacial residency program at the L.A. County/USC Medical Center.

AO Secretary: Dr. Russell Nishimura
Dr. Nishimura maintains a private practice limited to prosthodontics and implant dentistry in Westlake Village, Calif.

He is Professor Emeritus at the UCLA School of Dentistry, where he taught removable prosthodontics and chaired the RPD, Immediate Denture and Implant courses. He became codirector of the Maxillofacial Prosthetics Residency Program, director of the UCLA Maxillofacial Prosthetic and Implant Laboratory and later the executive vice chairman of the Division of Advanced Prosthodontics, Biomaterials and Hospital Dentistry.

Dr. Nishimura is a Fellow of the Academy and has been an active member for many years. He is past chair of the Membership and International Relations committees and has served on the Board of Directors since 2005. He is a past president of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon National Dental Honor Society, UCLA Epsilon Zeta Chapter.

Dr. Nishimura received his BS and DDS degrees from UCLA. He completed postgraduate programs in hospital dentistry, posthodontics, and maxillofacial prosthetics at the UCLA School of Dentistry.

AO Director: Dr. Tara Aghaloo
Dr. Aghaloo is associate professor in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the UCLA School of Dentistry. Her clinical practice focuses on hard- and soft-tissue augmentation and dental implants. She has published extensively on bone biology with an emphasis on bone grafting to improve current practices and dental implant success.

An active member of AO, she was chair of the stem cell group for the 2010 Silver Anniversary Summit: Impact of Biological and Technological Advances on Implant Dentistry. She was program chair for the academy’s 2011 annual meeting in Washington, DC.

Dr. Aghaloo completed her dental training at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She came to UCLA for oral and maxillofacial surgery residency, and completed an MD degree and a PhD in oral biology.

Academy officers and directors who will continue their service on the Board of Directors are Peter K. Moy, DMD, Los Angeles, Calif. (past president); Joseph E. Gian-Grasso, DMD, Philadelphia, Pa. (treasurer); and directors Michael R. Norton, BDS, London, U.K.; Alan S. Pollack, DDS, New York, N.Y.; Jay P. Malmquist, DMD, Portland, Ore.; Steven J. Rosenstein, DMD, Aventura, Fla.; Clark M. Stanford, DDS, PhD, Iowa City, Iowa; and James Taylor, BSc, DMD, MA, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

For more information, visit www.osseo.org.

To comment on this topic, go to community.pennwelldentalgroup.com/.