New Executive Board for the Academy of General Dentistry

Sept. 21, 2001
Howard Zuckerman installed as President.

CHICAGO - The Academy of General Dentistry is pleased to announce its newly elected and installed executive board. A formal ceremony was held during the second session of the House of Delegates at the Academy's annual meeting on August 5, 2001, in New York to recognize the Academy's new leaders.


Howard W. Zuckerman, DDS, MAGD, of Lombard, Ill., was installed as president. Previously, he served as treasurer of the Academy from 1996-1998 and was a member of the Executive Committee, the Board of Trustees, the Budget and Finance Committee and the National Sponsor Approval Committee.

President Elect

Jim Richeson, DDS, FAGD, of Washington D.C., was installed as president elect. He will serve one year as president elect, with an automatic ascension to president in 2002. Dr. Richeson has served as the Academy vice president, treasurer and trustee.

Vice President

John D. Chandler, DDS, MAGD, of Huntsville, Texas, was elected vice president. He will serve one year as vice president, with an automatic ascension to president elect in 2002 and president in 2003. He has served as an Academy trustee and secretary and as a Texas Academy of General Dentistry public information officer, legislative chair, editor and treasurer. Dr. Chandler has recently completed a four-year appointment to the ADA Continuing Education Recognition Program (ADA-CERP).


Thomas A. Howley, Jr., DDS, MAGD, of Perkiomenville, Penn., was elected secretary. He is an Academy trustee, a member of the Budget and Finance Committee, representative to the Ethics Alliance of Oral Health Organizations and a member of the ADA-CERP committee.


Mark P. Cohen, DDS, MAGD, of Hillsdale, N.J., was installed as the treasurer. He has served the Academy as a national trustee, a Budget and Finance Committee member and a delegate to the Academy House.

Speaker of the House

Robert Roesch, DDS, MAGD, of Fremont, Neb., was re-elected to a third term as the speaker of the house. Before becoming the Academy's speaker of the house, Dr. Roesch served as an Academy trustee, regional director, editor of regional directors and president of the Nebraska chapter of the Academy.


Roger D. Winland, DDS, MS, MAGD, of Athens, Ohio, was installed as editor for the sixth consecutive year. Before becoming the Academy's editor, Dr. Winland was the editor of the Academy's Ohio chapter's award-winning newsletter The Family Dentist.


CONTACT: Susan Urbanczyk, public information administrator, at 312/440-4308 or [email protected] or Molly Eaton, public information assistant, at 312/440-4341 or [email protected].