Winners of inaugural William J. Gies Awards announced

Jan. 15, 2008
Awards to be presented at celebration in conjunction with the 85th American Dental Education Association Annual Session.

WASHINGTON, D.C.-- The ADEAGies Foundation has announced winners of the inaugural William J. Gies Awards for Vision, Innovation, and Achievement.

Named after William J. Gies, a pioneer in dental education, "The Gies Awards" recognize contributions to and support of global oral health and education initiatives. The Gies Awards will be presented at a black-tie celebration March 29 in conjunction with the 85th ADEA Annual Session at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, Texas.

OraPharma, Inc., is a premier sponsor of the awards ceremony in recognition of its sponsorship of the Foundation's curriculum change initiatives.

The 2008 honorees were selected by a distinguished panel of judges consisting of the ADEAGies Foundation Board of Trustees.

The winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Michael C. Alfano, DMD, PhD, New York University
Outstanding Vision-Dental Educator

University of Maryland Baltimore College of Dental Surgery
Outstanding Vision-Academic Dental Institution

Marcia A. Boyd, DDS, MA
Outstanding Achievement-Dental Educator

Charles J. Goodacre, DDS, MSD, Loma Linda School of Dentistry
Outstanding Innovation-Dental Educator

Harvard School of Dental Medicine
Outstanding Vision-Academic Dental Institution

Louisiana State University School of Dentistry
Outstanding Innovation-Academic Dental Institution

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
Outstanding Vision-Public/Private Partner

David Satcher, MD, PhD, National Center for Primary Care
Oustanding Achievement-Public/Private Partner

University of Iowa College of Dentistry
Outstanding Achievement-Academic Dental Institution

"It's a privilege to recognize these award winners, each of whom took on a challenge in global oral health and education and pursued it tirelessly," said Richard W. Valachovic, DMD, MPH, president of the ADEAGies Foundation and executive director of the American Dental Education Association. "All of them will inspire continued achievement in our field, just as William J. Gies has."

The Gies Awards are presented by the ADEAGies Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the American Dental Education Association. For more than 50 years, the ADEAGies Foundation has enhanced the oral health of the public through programs that support dental education, research, leadership, and recognition.

Tickets for the celebration are $85 and can be purchased online at American Dental Education Association. Sponsored tables are available.

For more information, contact Erin Mote at (703) 506-3260.