American College of Prosthodontists announces 2014 awards of distinction

Nov. 4, 2014
  American College of Prosthodontists will honor award recipients at annual President's Dinner.    
The American College of Prosthodontists (ACP), through its awards program, formally recognizes individuals whose contributions to the specialty or to the college are outstanding and substantial. These individuals will be honored on Friday, Nov. 7, at ACP's Annual Awards & President's Dinner. The event is held during the 44th Annual Session of the American College of Prosthodontists in New Orleans from Nov. 5-8, 2014. More than 1,200 dental professionals plan to attend this international meeting, which features four days of dynamic plenary sessions and workshops, and an exhibit hall showcasing Prosthodontic dentistry's leading partners and suppliers.

The ACP is proud to announce the following award recipients:

Dan Gordon Lifetime Achievement Award - Dr. Charles J. Goodacre
Charles Goodacre, DDS, MSD, was dean of the Loma Linda University School of Dentistry from 1994 into 2013. Dr. Goodacre remains at LLUSD as professor in the Department of Restorative Dentistry. Dr. Goodacre is past president of the ACP. Dr. Goodacre maintains a Prosthodontic practice in Loma Linda. Additionally, Dr. Goodacre serves on the board of the Fair Foundation, helping pre-transplant patients qualify to receive an organ.

President's Award- Retired Maj. Gen. Bill B. Lefler
Retired Maj. Gen. Bill B. Lefler had an active military career for more than 34 years. His last assignment was assistant Surgeon General and 20th chief, Army Dental Corps. He also served as a consultant to the Army Surgeon General, director of the Prosthodontic residency program, and lectured locally, nationally and internationally. Dr. Lefler's dedication was unsurpassed, also serving as an active member of the ACP as a charter fellow and diplomate of the American Board of Prosthodontics since 1970.

Clinician/Researcher Award - Dr. Kenneth S. Kurtz
Dr. Kenneth S. Kurtz, based at Academic Prosthodontics of Long Island in New Hyde Park, N.Y., is a board-certified Prosthodontist specializing in implant, esthetic and reconstructive dentistry. Dr. Kurtz is a clinical professor and associate director of the Advanced Education Program in Prosthodontics at New York University College of Dentistry and Director of Prosthodontic Research at the Graduate Prosthodontic Program at Montefiore Medical Center/AECOM. Dr. Kurtz also serves as director of the Maxillofacial Prosthetics Section, Postgraduate Prosthodontics for New York Hospital-Queens and is an Attending Maxillofacial Prosthodontist at Long Island Jewish MedicalCenter. Along with his many teaching positions, Dr. Kurtz has co-authored 36 scientific papers.

Dental Technician Leadership Award - Larry Lindke
Larry Lindke is a consultant for Nobel Biocare, along with many international dental companies. He operates a dental laboratory in Atlanta, Ga., specializing in full-mouth rehabilitation, dental implants and highly aesthetic restorations. Mr. Lindke lectures and teaches workshops and clinics in the United States, Europe, Asia, South Africa and Canada. He has been ACP's Technicians Alliance Spokesperson since 2010 and is a member of the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics.

Distinguished Lecturer Award - Dr. Nancy S. Arbree
Dr. Nancy S. Arbree was ACP's first female president in 2004 and has played an integral role in the field of Prosthodontic academics. She introduced overdentures and overdenture attachments into the predoctoral curriculum and clinic. She also established the denture recall system and managed a special access program for geriatric denture patients. Dr. Arbree was the associate dean of academic affairs at Tufts University for 16 years, where she chaired the Curriculum Committee, managed predoctoral student schedules and served as director of the biomedical sciences courses.

Educator of the Year Award - Dr. Hiroshi Hirayama
Dr. Hiroshi Hirayama has been a dedicated educator at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine, serving as the director of the Tufts Prosthodontic Residency Program for 20 years. He has one of the highest percentages of residents obtaining American Board of ProsthodonticsCertification of all Prosthodontic programs, according to ACP President Dr. John Agar.

Major General Bill B. Lefler Federal Services Award - Dr. William O. Wilson Jr.
Dr. William O. Wilson Jr. is a Commander in the United States Navy Dental Corps. He is the department chairman and program director for the Maxillofacial Prosthetics Fellowship at the Navy Postgraduate Dental School in Bethesda, Md. His knowledge and expertise have earned him the opportunity to serve as a consultant to the Navy Surgeon General as the Navy specialty leader for maxillofacial prosthetics and dental implants.

For more information about the American College of Prosthodontists, visit their website at

Related Articles
DANB recognizes orthodontic assistants
American Academy of Periodontology recognizes member achievements