NCOHF welcomes new board members

June 12, 2012
Organization also announces slate of officers.

CHARLOTTE, North Carolina--National Children’s Oral Health Foundation: America’s ToothFairy has announcesd election of a new slate of officers for 2013.

The organization also has welcomed new board members Robert Hayman, Abe Reichental, Rebecca Slayton DDS, PhD, Melissa Summerfield, and Stephen Thorne IV.

Related information, click here.

The NCOHF slate of officers includes:

Chairman – Thomas M. Prescott, president and CEO, Align Technologies

President – Fern Ingber, MEd, CEO, NCOHF (Ex-Officio)

First Vice President – Kent Chiu, president and CEO, Septodont

Second Vice President – Allison Farey, president, Wells Fargo Practice Finance

Treasurer – Paul Guggenheim, president, Patterson Dental Supply

Secretary – Huw F. Thomas, BDS, dean, Tufts University School of Medicine

Newly elected to a three-year term on the NCOHF Board of Directors are:

Robert Hayman, CEO and principal of Hayman Advisors and a principal of Perimetrics, LLC

Abe Reichental, president and CEO of 3D Systems since 2003, and a recipient of innovation and entrepreneurial awards

Rebecca Slayton, DDS, PhD, professor and chair of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry at the University of Iowa, who serves on committees of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and the Section on Oral Health for the American Academy of Pediatrics. Dr. Slayton is also chair of the NCOHF Scientific Advisory Board.

Melissa Summerfield, senior publisher of Oral Health Journal and Dental Practice Management in Canada and a member of the Dental Industry Association of Canada

Stephen Thorne IV, founder, president and CEO of Pacific Dental Services and president of the Dental Group Practice Association--an association of dental group practices in America.

Serving on the Board of Directors with Hayman, Reichental, Dr. Slayton, Summerfield, Thorne, and the NCOHF officers are:

Christopher Clark, president and CEO, DENTSPLY International

Gordon Christensen, DDS, MSD, PhD, founder and director, Practical Clinical Courses

Thomas Engels, retired 3M executive

P. Christopher Holden, president, Heraeus Kulzer

Nathan Jones, founder and chairman, Xlear

Leo E. Rouse, DDS, FACD, dean, Howard University College of Dentistry

Cherilyn G. Sheets, DDS, private practice dentist

John N. Williams, DMD, MBA, dean, Indiana University School of Dentistry

“We are honored to have such an extraordinary Board of Directors who are dedicated to improving children’s oral health,” said Fern Ingber, MEd, NCOHF president and CEO.

“Under their guidance, NCOHF will continue to break the cycle of pediatric dental disease by ensuring the children of our most vulnerable populations receive the quality care and services they need and deserve.”

For more information about NCOHF: America’s ToothFairy, visit

To comment on this topic, go to